SharePoint Online and Office 365 groups: What is the difference between soft delete and hard delete?

Yes, SharePoint Online and Office 365 groups (aka Unified Group) are concurrent. Example, if you have create a Microsoft Teams Group/Team or create an Office 365 groups or create a Team sites, Microsoft Office 365 will create a site or create a group for it too. However, now Microsoft Office 365 has a new category of create site, called Communication site. (FYI, I am still learning on it).
Anyway, I am here to provide a notice or knowledge to technical and end users, when comes to creating and editing/modification sites, everyone are very good at it. However, when it comes to deletion, no one really cares !
Now here comes the interesting part, try asking yourself “What actually happens, when i deleted a group?” and your possible answer is “Oh, it just went into my recycle bin.”. I couldn’t agree more to that answer but that is only partial information that you know about the deletion function.

○ Definition of soft deletion – “Recycle bin with retention period of 30 days”
○ Definition of hard deletion – “After retention period of 30 days and 93 days, Microsoft Online Service Garbage Collector (You will notice this from your Audit log in Security and Compliance), will automatically permanently force delete anything inside the recycle bin”
*Note:
○ This may takes up to 24 hours or 48 hours for permanent deletion completion

Anyway, administrator and users don’t have to be afraid of 30 days retention, where now Microsoft has extended the retention to 93 days, where all things in recycle bin will be move to a secondary recycle bin. However, there is always a limited quota for secondary recycle bin, if exceeds than it will automatically purges the oldest items. (Please refer to the references)
References;

Author: sabrinaksy

Just a little girl who love what she does best.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s